1. Michael is a publication series of The Norwegian Medical Society (Det norske medicinske Selskab).

  2. Michael is named after Michael Skjelderup (1769-1852), the first medical professor in Norway and one of the founding fathers of the Society.

  3. Michael is distributed to the members of the Society, other subscribers and libraries. Separate issues may also be distributed to external groups of readers.

  4. Michael publishes high quality papers on topics within the range of interest held by the Society. The manuscripts will be peer reviewed prior to the editorial decision on acceptance.

  5. Michael publishes articles in the Scandinavian languages or in English, depending on topic and main readership. Michael is published in full text on the Internet (

  6. Michael publishes four regular issues a year. Supplements may be published at irregular intervals.

  7. Michael’s editors are appointed for a period of three years among the members of The Norwegian Medical Society by its Board. Reappointments are allowed. The editors may supplement themselves by editorial members from collaborating associations and appoint ad hoc editors for special issues.

Editors 2020:

Professor Øivind Larsen

Professor Magne Nylenna

Dr. Astrid Nylenna (secretary)

Postal address:

Michael, c/o professor Øivind Larsen 1130 Blindern

N-0318 Oslo, Norway

Editorial board 2020:

Professor Stein A. Evensen

Professor Jan Frich

Professor Christoph Gradmann

Professor Arvid Heiberg

Director Frøydis Langmark

Post. doc. stip. Kristine Lillestøl

Annual subscription rate

NOK 500 (2020)

ISSN 1893-9651